Unison Houses, Businesses, and Churches
The buildings and residences of Unison past
This quaint farm sits about 3/4 of a mile from the Unison village on the land owned by early Unison settler Henry Plaster.
The house commands a high knoll overlooking a meandering creek and the road that leads from Unison to Philomont. The dwelling
is a comfortable blend of old and new, with the oldest section
constructed as a small tenant house built around 1800.
As current owner, Mitch Diamond, explains ...
"A few years later, around 1820 or so, [Henry Plaster's] son Michael Plaster acquired the house and property and added a
federal style two story addition. The house appears on the 1854 Yardley Taylor map of Loudoun County and witnessed many
of the movements of troops and fights along the road from Philomont to Unison and Upperville.
The Warburg family owned both the house and several hundred acres of surrounding land
in the 1940s and 50s. Sometime during the early 20th century
porches were added to the side and back of the house. More recently the house was owned by Jim Kamihachi who added
a log cabin structure from West Virginia onto it and later by Robin Richards and her husband who added a
master bedroom suite and breakfast room.When we bought it from Robin Richards it was called Unison Farm already and we kept the same name.
Description courtesy of owner.
Photos courtesy of F. Hillman